E-mails over the weekend

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jac91, Feb 5, 2016.

1. Jac91

Jac91 Rookie

Feb 5, 2016

I am a first year teacher and I'm struggling to think of boundaries with emails. I was wondering when do you not check your emails. I don't want to continue to have my nights (when school is well over) and weekends consumed with checking emails and responding to parent's complaints/concerns but I also don't want parents to feel like I am ignoring them. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

3. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Feb 5, 2016

My personal choice is that if a parent is acting responsibily, not abusing my time with e-mails, I resond very very quickly to all e-mails, at all times.

Backroads likes this.
  4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Feb 5, 2016

I would be very upfront with parents about the fact that you'll answer emails within 24 hours (on weekdays). Emails sent on weekends will be answered by Monday.

You should not be spending your evenings checking emails and responding to parents' concerns/complaints (unless that's your personal choice). The more you make yourself available, the more they'll expect from you. You've gotta set boundaries.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 5, 2016

I generally avoid even opening my school email on evenings and weekends because I don't want to have to tend to school issues while I'm at home. Furthermore, I don't always have access to student records and other data when I'm at home, so it's very likely that I may not be able to respond to a parent concern after hours even if I wanted to. For this reason I tell students and parents that the school's policy is that teachers will typically respond to emails by the end of the following school day whenever possible.

[​IMG]

bella84 and YoungTeacherGuy like this.
  6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Feb 5, 2016