Drowning

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by ssgirl11, Jan 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ssgirl11

ssgirl11 Companion

Jan 15, 2018

Hello, everyone!
    I have been a reader on this forum for awhile, but recently decided to start an account.
    Here is my situation:

I am a first year teacher. I LOVE teaching, and still feel my passion for it after being in the field for a few months. My issue is that I am also the middle school cheer coach at my school. Last year, I was subbing at my school, and I took the coaching job to get a leg-up on my full-time position, and to get more involved with the community. I haven't cheered since middle school, and I have ZERO experience coaching. I am the only coach, no assistant coach and not much support from anyone else. We have been practicing since mid-July, football season in August, then we went straight to basketball season in December. With basketball season, we have had 2 games a week (lasting until 7:30, later if it is an away game) plus one practice. The girls are getting increasingly harder to control, because we have been together for so long. The season has had its bouts of drama, and has not been at all easy. The AD does not communicate with me when there are schedule changes or cancellations. The thing that I find the most frustrating is that I feel this is distracting me from being the best teacher I can be. I feel like everything I have done in the classroom during basketball season has been the bare minimum, because I have no time to put into my schoolwork. I am so ready for this to be over. We only have 16 days left in the season, but it feels like an eternity. I am certainly regretting my decision to take the coaching job.

Has anyone else coached their first year and regretted it?

3. AlwaysAttend

AlwaysAttend Fanatic

Jan 17, 2018