Dreams of being a teacher... but hubby says no

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mr22, Jul 18, 2016.

1. mr22

mr22 New Member

Jul 18, 2016

Good Morning, I hope that it is okay to post in this thread although I am not a current teacher. I have my Bachelor's degree and have signed up to get my teacher certification as a career change (need to take the test). However, I still can not talk my husband into letting me become a teacher. Its a huge pay cut for me, but I absolutely hate my job and hate being away from my 4 kids so much. I want to have the same schedule as them, take them to school, pick them up and be home w them during the summer. Teaching has always been a dream of mine, but I just chose a different path about 10 years ago and have not been able to get back to what I want to do. I now have 4 kids and I am at a different place in my life where money is not everything to me. I would take a 1/2 salary pay cut if I do this. I am still trying to get my certification & I have 12 hours toward my masters which if I get it, then that will be a few thousand more a year in teacher salary, but is there any other ways to make extra money so that I can finally do what I have always wanted and become a teacher? Thanks in advance for any help.

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 18, 2016

What specifically is your husband against? Is it the pay cut? You may need to sit down and discuss an adjusted budget.

4. mr22

mr22 New Member

Jul 18, 2016

Yes, he loves money :( and it will cause us to slow down a lot and do a lot of things differently but it is something I am willing to do but he is not so I am trying to find ways to supplement extra income.

5. Teachertimes

Teachertimes Rookie

Jul 18, 2016

I just want to caution you that you will not really have the same schedule as your kids. I miss out on things with my kids because I work a ton of hours.