Drama/Theatre

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Ms.SLS, Jun 26, 2012.

1. Ms.SLS

Ms.SLS Cohort

Jun 26, 2012

Well, this coming school year, I will be teaching drama for the first time ever.

It's only one period, but the extent of my drama knowledge comes from the oh... two drama classes I took in college (only reading plays, no acting), and the one or two plays I teach in my English classes every year.

I have zero practical experience and little background knowledge. There is no textbook for the class. ;)

Where do I start?

Also, how many of your schools have a drama class that puts on a play? In my experience, the school play has been put on by a drama CLUB, because it requires so much extra-curricular time. Just wondering if that's the norm, or if many schools have a play as part of a drama CLASS.

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jun 26, 2012

Hi, Ms. SLS, I'll be teaching drama for the first time as well. The retiring teacher left me all of her stuff for it. My new school approaches it more like an academic class so they study the origin of drama and then start reading plays. They also do a puppet theater project. The plays I'll be doing with them are Glass Menagerie, Antigone, Merchant of Venice, The Miracle Worker or Our Town, and then the final project is done using the Spoon River Anthology. The teacher was very explicit with me that it's not meant to be any sort of acting course.

I figured I'd definitely do it that way this year and then can always change it in the future.

I would be more than happy to send the syllabus your way if you'd like and then you can look it over.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jun 26, 2012

Pull MikeTeachesMath into this conversation! That may sound odd considering his screen name, but he's currently teaching several acting classes this summer and probably has some good ideas.

5. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jun 26, 2012