Drama Teacher Training?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by rbschreiber@gma, Mar 23, 2011.

1. rbschreiber@gma

rbschreiber@gma Rookie

Mar 23, 2011

I am a first year teacher and was semi-thrown into teaching an Intro to Drama class. I enjoy it and have some theater background so it worked out very well, but if you asked me a year ago I would have never expected to teach drama.

It's seeming more and more likely the drama program may be developed and grown, so I would next year potentially have to put on productions. I am both excited and freaked out by this.

Does anyone know of any types of classes, courses, or training for drama teachers or for putting on productions? We have a local grant, and I'd love to apply for a course. I'm in So. California. Would so appreciate any help!

Thanks!

3. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Mar 24, 2011

I hope to see what others say as I have a feeling this might happen to me next year. I am in the same place as you - I have a little acting experience, mostly improv, and I am afraid they are going to end up having me producing the school musical or something.

4. tchr4evr

tchr4evr Companion

Mar 24, 2011

EDTA

Get involved in EdTa which is the Educational Theatre Association. They have workshops available, and they offer all kinds of publications that can help you. Also, see if your state has a state theatre organization. I wish you well. I have been teaching drama for the past five years, and my school has been slowly trying to take it away from me.

5. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Mar 24, 2011

I know how you feel. That's sortof happening to me, as well.

6. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Mar 24, 2011

I am sad that it is being cut in other schools.