dr. seuss day ideas

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by maggie123, Jan 9, 2011.

1. maggie123

maggie123 Rookie

Jan 9, 2011

This is my first year, I would like to do something for dr. seuss day. I know green eggs and ham tends to be big, however, I have several children allergic to eggs and I know they will feel left out.
    What else do you do for that day?

3. mrgrinch09

mrgrinch09 Comrade

Jan 9, 2011

4. mrgrinch09

mrgrinch09 Comrade

Jan 9, 2011

[​IMG]

5. Pre-K Teacher 1

Pre-K Teacher 1 Comrade

Jan 9, 2011

I would bring in all sorts of Dr. Suess books to read all week. We would vote on our favorite, make our own version of one of the books, draw our imaginary world on a large sheet of paper, make Dr. Suess hats, make up silly rhyming phrases, eat cake, etc.

6. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Jan 9, 2011

We have several children that are allergic to eggs and since we are a multi-age class they are there for many years. Long ago I gave up on the green egg and ham.

We read tons of stories, make collages of feathers with a Gertude McGrew drawn in the coner, create a hat for our heads and one for the bboard. The one of the board has rhymes on each strip (cat, mat, hat....).

We make ooblick (for the story with the king--I can't remember).

It goes on and on.....but no eggs.

I usually make the lemonaide-but that cookbook looks great!

7. EDUK8_ME

EDUK8_ME Cohort

Jan 9, 2011

My Many Colored Days- Give each child a small die-cut of a person (I use a gingerbread man shape) then give them some colored chalk to color the person. Students choose how to color their person. Then take a cotton ball and have the students blend the colors together.

Green Eggs & Ham- have children marble paint different shades of green on a piece of white paper. When the paper is dry, trace a fried egg shape on back. Have students cut out and add a yellow circle for yolk.