Dr. Jean

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by classemom, Aug 14, 2007.

1. classemom

classemom Rookie

Aug 14, 2007

I love Dr. Jean...but since this is my first year teaching...just wondered....are Dr. Jean CD's something I can use at Calendar time in First Grade....or would the kids think it was too "babyish"...I know alot of Kinder and Pre-k teachers use these....what do you think or do?

Thanks.:)

3. knittingbec

knittingbec Comrade

Aug 15, 2007

I just bought a Dr. Jean CD to use with my 1st graders this year (mainly to use the get unpacked & settled song & get packed up and ready to leave song). I'm hoping my 1sts won't think it's too babyish. I think they won't think so at the beginning of the year and later in the year maybe we can transition into something else?
    My next-door-teacher last year used a Dr. Jean CD with her multi-age 1st/2nd grade class each day and they loved it!

4. dizzybri14

dizzybri14 Companion

Aug 15, 2007

I used a Dr.Jean CD in my 2nd gr. classroom last year. I had to pick and choose which songs to use with them, but they LOVED it! It was something different and they would ASK me to use the CD (they would sing and dance along with it too!) :)

5. timetoteach

timetoteach Rookie

Aug 15, 2007

I teach First and my kids love Dr. Jean. I like all of the educational songs about verbs, phonics, and money. I need to get another cd this year because I heard the one from last year a lot!

6. Eliza

Eliza Companion

Aug 15, 2007

I LOVE Dr. Jean and use her songs alot! I moved from Kinder last year and was also worried about it being too babyish but my first grade kids loved her songs as much as my kinder kids.

7. starbucks

starbucks Comrade

Aug 15, 2007

I had never heard of Dr. Jean until I started reading these boards. I am thinking of purchasing one of her CD's to try. They all sound good, but, is there one that you would recommend I start with. I teach kindergarten not first grade, Thanks

8. Eliza

Eliza Companion