Downs syndrome

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by Coriannder, Sep 10, 2002.

1. Coriannder

Coriannder Guest

Sep 10, 2002

Help! I am a new regular ed teacher who has a downs syndrome child in my classroom. He is having a difficult transition to first grade and I would like to help him. His behavior is causing problems for the whole class. He is refusing to work, he is loud and disruptive, and he is hurting other children. We are trying different behavior plans but nothing seems to be working so far. I would welcome any ideas for behavior and to get him to do some work.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2002
  3. Guest

Guest Guest

Sep 10, 2002

Hi, i'm a first grade teacher and what i do is i give each child a bag plastic (sandwich bag) and i post them on a wall or bulletin board and i give them pennies as the day goes by. if they behave i give a penny or two depends you start out with low count and also if they turn in their homework or if they come to school that counts and i give a penny or two visversa if they misbehave i take away pennies and i take away more than what i give or if they don't complete their homework or whatever you make the call. at the end of the week i open up a little store inside my classroom and i sell pencils, stickers, candies, toys from garage sales etc... anything cheap but that will get their eyes. at the same time you teach the value of money and wordproblems in math well that my discipline behavior and it works for me and maybe you already tried this.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Sep 18, 2002

Hi,

I am a teacher of children with autism. Although the disabilities are different, some of the strategies are the same. The first and probably most important (in my mind) is a schedule. This student will probably benefit from a picture schedule. This enables him to know what is coming next and will reduce some of his anxiety.