"Don't reinvent the wheel"

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CatfaceMeowmers, Jul 19, 2015.

1. CatfaceMeowmers

CatfaceMeowmers Companion

Jul 19, 2015

Hello all. I feel I am really losing it. One week I am excited for school, another I am dreading it!
    So the teacher I am taking over for has been amazing. She gave me a lot of her items from the classroom, including 4 binders FULL of lesson plans and materials. I was beyond stoked. I had so much material and pretty much the year planned out for me already!
    There was one problem - I had no idea what a lot of her lesson plans meant. There were a lot of jargon and I wasn't sure about and lots of acronyms I'd never seen. So I do have "lessons" but I cannot interpret many of them....Btw, I am a first year teacher.
    I was told, as a teacher, you're best bet is to beg, borrow, and steal. I definitely will be doing this. So, I was GIVEN lesson plans. I could use these lesson plans; try to figure them out and implement them! Even if I had my own idea, why reinvent the wheel? It's all laid out for me!
    Or...I could use her lesson plans as a resource and, not necessarily start from scratch, but I could try to make my own lessons.
    I am at such a loss...I have no idea what to do.
    I would love to pretend that I don't have those binders and start from scratch, but that seems a bit naive and stupid.
    I have about 3 weeks left until school...I need to get my butt in gear.

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 19, 2015

I think her lessons could be a resource, but I wouldn't necessarily follow them all exactly as she did them. Each group of students is different. I can't reuse all my old lessons--some, the really good ones that I know work, sure; but I have to change things up every year because my classes are so different.