"Don't grade everything!"

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by teacherwithlove, Nov 1, 2014.

1. teacherwithlove

teacherwithlove Comrade

Nov 1, 2014

I am in my 4th year of teaching and veteran teachers are STILL telling me that I grade too much. I know of some teachers who only factor tests grades into report cards. It seems like everyone grades differently in my district, since there is nothing mandated by our district as far as grades go- except, we can't give lower than a C- if we didn't talk to the parents about a failing grade before hand...:|

So I'm curious. What do you grade on a weekly basis? How do you NOT grade everything? And does your district give you guidelines? :help:

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Nov 1, 2014

I grade the main weekly/bi-weekly assessments, as well as the quick-checks that we do in math (usually 3-4 a week, but pretty short and quick, as the name hints at). Those are ones I record specific scores down.

I also check for completion (but provide no score of any sort) of all homework turned in (usually a math and a writing/spelling/grammar piece each day, and then IXL/Reading Log/Reflection Form once a week), as well as providing feedback on each...many of my students will take that feedback and use it to improve. One student's writing has already improved a ton just from my comments on their homework, and with very little other input than that! Not all students will take a lot from the feedback, but I want them to have an equitable opportunity (and the parents and students are supposed to look through the week's work together each week and then sign the reflection form, so this feedback can provide a talking point for them on certain assignments, as well).

It might be too much, but everything that I do right now I feel has some importance, so I'm sticking with it for now.

4. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Nov 1, 2014