Don't feel like I am good at my job anymore...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teaching4God, Mar 26, 2011.

1. teaching4God

teaching4God Cohort

Mar 26, 2011

I know you are not supposed to compare yourself to other people, but I am really strongly feeling like I am not good at my job anymore. I teach in a very challenging area and I see all these wonderful websites online and feel pretty inadequate.

3. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Mar 26, 2011

This is your 1st year right? I think if you survive the first year with all your hair intact, you've done an adequate job! ;)

I was actually going to post something similar-how we are our worst critics. I think everybody feels that way sometimes. You have to take that reflection and figure out how to improve your craft-even if it's planning for next year's class. I always have a running list of things I'm going to work on-whether it's looking for pd's in that area or reading books on it.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 26, 2011

A wonderful website is NOT necessarily the sign of a wonderful (or even adequate) teacher. It's a sign of someone who knows how to make websites.

5. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Mar 26, 2011

:clap:

6. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Mar 26, 2011

Very true! :thumb:

7. teaching4God

teaching4God Cohort

Mar 26, 2011

No, this is my 4th year. I guess I get frustrated because I have all these wonderful ideas, but the behavior of my class as a whole doesn't allow for them to really be executed without chaos.

8. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Mar 26, 2011

Is this your fourth year as a third grade teacher? Are you collaborating with your teammates on ways they can give you ideas, help you?
    Have you really taken the time in the beginning of the year to develop a rapport with your students and lay a strong foundation on classroom management and consequences (and rewards)?

What exactly is going on? You say there is chaos. How so?