Don't call me stupid please.. I'm a first year teacher but..

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Aspiringinstruc, Jul 22, 2013.

1. Aspiringinstruc

Aspiringinstruc Rookie

Jul 22, 2013

Do standards have to be posted in the front of the classroom or can I post them on my back bulletin board and refer to them throughout my lesson.

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2013

Whatever works for you and your school. :)

I prefer front, but if you don't have room then I'm sure they'll serve their purpose in the back.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2013

In my school they can be posted anywhere as long as we refer to them, like you suggested...

:hugs: and there are NO stupid questions! :hugs:

We have all been beginning teachers at one time. :love:

5. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Jul 22, 2013

Post them upside down, backwards, and in Korean if you want. The only thing that matters is that the STUDENTS know the learning goals when working on activities. That THEY know the purpose of what they are doing.

6. Aspiringinstruc

Aspiringinstruc Rookie

Jul 22, 2013

Thanks you all

7. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2013

I know you're being silly, but unfortunately students knowing the goals and purposes isn't enough. We are marked for not having clear "I can..." statements posted.

8. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jul 22, 2013

I'm glad we're not marked down for not having standards posted. I have no idea where I'd put them! I do put the daily agenda up with a brief objective though.

9. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 22, 2013

Several teachers at my school put them on the inside of their classroom door. As long as your principal doesn't care, post them wherever.

10. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Jul 22, 2013

I am just trying to stress to a new teacher that the value is not in posting goals around the room, not making nice neat borders,having beautiful posters..etc.