Does your class make Christmas gifts?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by Mrs_B, Dec 8, 2007.

1. Mrs_B

Mrs_B Comrade

Dec 8, 2007

This is my first year teaching 4th grade. Do you have your students make a gift for their parents for Christmas? If so, do you have any project ideas? I have been looking but most seem to be geared towards younger kids. TIA!

3. GoldenPoppy

GoldenPoppy Habitué

Dec 9, 2007

We make gingerbread houses on the last day of school before vacation, so I suppose those could be considered a family gift. Other than that, I don't do anything.

4. TampaTeacher

TampaTeacher Comrade

Dec 9, 2007

We've spent the last couple weeks writing Christmas stories and making them into books. On the last day before Winter Break, the kids will read their stories to their parents, and bring the books home as gifts.

But if you're looking for a quick project, I also found some cute ... what's that foamy paper-stuff called that you get from craft stores? Anyway, I bought foam-paper doorknob hangers that the kids decorate. Those were 3 for a dollar at the Dollar Tree. We'll be making them for Fun Friday this week.

5. cameroncrazie

cameroncrazie Rookie

Dec 9, 2007

We are making ornaments this year. One of our third grade classes used the clear balls and poured one drop of paint in it and rolled it around. Then they added a few different colors. It turned out beautifully.
    Also, in years past we have just taken a snapshot of the kids and put it in a frame and let the kids make cards to go along with it. Very simple and not time consuming.

6. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Dec 9, 2007