Does Your Certification Program or Route Matter?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ScottM, Mar 28, 2016.

1. ScottM

ScottM Rookie

Mar 28, 2016

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to this forum and introduced myself previously, but let me summarize my background and goals:

-29-year old former engineer with degrees in mechanical engineering
    -want to teach high school math
    -able to move to any US state

I'm still a ways off from applying to any certification programs, but it got me thinking: do schools care where you went to for your certification program? Would I have better luck finding a job if I graduated from a certification program at a "big name" school as opposed to one at a smaller, more obscure college?

I was also wondering about certification routes - would I have a better chance to be hired if I went through a traditional route as opposed to an alternate route?

Thanks for your input.

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Mar 28, 2016

Your program doesn't make a huge difference. Traditional route does make a huge difference; not only will you be a more attractive candidate, but you'll also be a more prepared teacher.

4. DannieJaeger

DannieJaeger Rookie

Mar 29, 2016

I do not think it will matter with being hired. My two cents: I did an alternative route after being in the healthcare field for over 10 years and it met my current needs (very cheap, not a lot of time - I did not even do any student teaching) but it made my first few years of teaching and learning on the job very stressful and not so great for my students.

Peregrin5 likes this.
  5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Mar 29, 2016

I was hired specifically because I had been out "in the real world" for a decade before completing my teaching certification. Use your life experience as an advantage and you'll be in great shape.

Peregrin5 and NOLATeach like this.
  6. NOLATeach

NOLATeach Rookie

Mar 30, 2016

Love this!

7. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Mar 30, 2016