Does turning down a job somewhere blacklist you there for the future?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by missflower, Jul 18, 2014.

1. missflower

missflower Rookie

Jul 18, 2014

As a brand new teacher, I have chosen to turn down a job in a more desirable district for a job in a district where I did my student teaching and have mentors and a support system already in place. I wonder if, in the future, I wanted to reapply to the district I am turning down, would they not be willing to consider me? I of course tried to leave a good impression and was very polite and expressed my gratitude for the opportunity. I think I am making the right choice, but still I feel sad about potentially burning a bridge there.

3. hep223

hep223 Companion

Jul 18, 2014

Congrats on the job! I don't think you are burning a bridge as long as you give them enough time to find another teacher. They understand that we sometimes are offered more than one position at a time and have to make the decision that is going to be the best for us.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jul 18, 2014

I would just say "thanks, but I already accepted a different position in the school where I did my student teaching."

5. jarofharts

jarofharts New Member

Jul 18, 2014

Yeah, I have the same problem. I recently accepted a job up north, but I live in Southern California and I want to be closer to my family. So, I'm planning on teaching up there for a year first, then I will move back home.

It does feel like I'm burning a bridge. Are our applications still in the file even if we don't accept the job?

6. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jul 18, 2014

I doubt it blacklist you. If they were willing to hire you one time, I would think they would be willing to hire you again in the future with even more experience.

7. mellow

mellow Rookie

Jul 18, 2014