Does anyone have ASD experience to share?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by AllisonLP, Mar 3, 2012.

1. AllisonLP

AllisonLP Rookie

Mar 3, 2012

Hi,
    I am a student in a special ed program. I have 2 more classes before I intern so I have room in my schedule for the three class series for ASD endorsement.

My math/science student teaching experience was with a middle school ASD class but they were all very mild ASD, Asperger's mostly.

I really enjoyed this group and found them (7 boys) to largely be intelligent and stimulating to teach. I don't have any experience with younger or nonverbal ASD students where most of the jobs are in my area. Can anyone share there experiences that might help me decide if I want to pursue this type of position?

Thanks!
    Allison

3. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Mar 3, 2012

Well, I think you will need to actually experience it for yourself to see if it's something you would be happy with. I currently teach LD students (including one with Asperger's), but I spent 5 years creating curriculum and supervising a summer program for children with autism, and most were considered moderate to severe.

You will have to have a great amount of patience, because many lower functioning ASD kids have difficulty communicating their needs and/or have more severe meltdowns than what you are used to. You'll also have to be good with consistency, because being consistent is the only way to shape appropriate behavior. Depending on the extent of their disability, you may have to take on roles such as feeding or changing. One of my favorite kids to work with is turning 14 soon and still in briefs.

Like I said, it really is a unique experience. I have had days where I'm crying because a kid bit me on my face, and I've had days where I'm crying because a nonverbal kiddo said something intentionally. You'll really have to try it out and see if you're the type of person that can handle that type of intense, very hands on environment.