Does anyone else feel overwhelmed?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by runnerss, Jul 17, 2008.

1. runnerss

runnerss Comrade

Jul 17, 2008

This is going to be my 4th year teaching math, so it's not like I don't know what I am doing. I just get overwhelmed with everything that has to be done. I always feel like I am two steps behind. Does anyone else feel that way?

3. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 17, 2008

Oh yes. Very overwhelmed. My to-do list grows and grows daily.

4. Criseyde

Criseyde Rookie

Jul 17, 2008

Pretty much all the time. My mind now automatically closes on certain things, like the beginning of the school year! That way, I can't think about it before, say August.

5. Teachingin08

Teachingin08 Rookie

Jul 17, 2008

YES! I am a first year teacher. I am taking the place of a retiring teacher who left SO MUCH stuff. I have to go through it all and throw away what I won't use. On top of that, everything was taken out of the room and as I am trying to put it all back, I have NO CLUE how they had all that stuff in that room. There just isn't room for it all. There is no air conditioning and the classroom looks aweful...I don't know how to make it look nice. Plus, there is all of the planning of lessons and procedures. (I have to read up on 4 block, because we weren't taught much about it in school, but that is what the school uses.) So yes...wow...I am overwhelmed!

6. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

Jul 17, 2008

I am going into my 4th year teaching and I feel like this too. I don't think it's so much a case of not knowing what you are doing, but that there are so many things to be done and just not enough time. Add that to the fact that special ed cases are being included more and more in the regular classroom without adding assistants to help out, and the result is often frustration, feelings of not measuring up to expectations, and sometimes burnout. We can only do our best, that's all anyone can ask.

7. iheart5thgrade