Does a MA degree always count towards salary scale?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by frtrd, May 29, 2014.

1. frtrd

frtrd Rookie

May 29, 2014

I'm in a Masters of Ed program right now to get my teacher certification. I enrolled in a MA program because my BA degree was not in Education, and I needed a way to get my certificate.

Today I saw something on Reddit saying that teachers who got their MA degree BEFORE beginning to teach would not be compensated accordingly -- they would be paid as if they only had a BA degree. (Only teachers who got their Masters AFTER beginning to teach would have it "counted".)

So ... Is this true??? And if so, how would I ever move up to the MA-level salary lane?? Because there is no way I would go back to get a SECOND Masters degree ... !

3. Pi-R-Squared

Pi-R-Squared Groupie

May 29, 2014

I got my MA degree in the Spring of 2013. I began my teaching career in the Fall 2013 and was paid according to the MA salary scale. :D

4. Rockguykev

Rockguykev Connoisseur

May 29, 2014

I've never heard of such a thing. Some districts pay one-time bonuses to teachers based on continuing education while teachers but that shouldn't have anything to do with the scale.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

May 29, 2014

I suppose it's possible, but in general, as long as your master's is related to your job title, you'll get put on the master's salary scale.

6. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

May 29, 2014

Can you post a link to the thing on Reddit?

Teacher salaries vary by district. It's possible that a particular district would institute this type of policy, but I have never heard of that happening. In my district, you are compensated as long as your credits/degree are related to Education and/or your content area.

If you have an idea about where you might want to work, check out their salary schedules and see what they say.

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 29, 2014