Do you work other jobs?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Mjohn78, Apr 21, 2006.

1. Mjohn78

Mjohn78 Rookie

Apr 21, 2006

We all know teachers starting out dont make much money...So do any of you current teachers work other jobs to make extra money? Does your husband/wife's salary help? Or do you just "live within your means"?

Thanks

3. ViolaSwamp

ViolaSwamp Habitué

Apr 21, 2006

I subbed for several years and managed to do it nearly everyday the full 7 hours. I waitressed from 2-5 days a week. Now I just teach and tutor a little on the side ($40 an hour).

4. TeacherC

TeacherC Connoisseur

Apr 21, 2006

I sub and my husbands pay helps. However, I am a little worried about that month and 1/2 over the summer...I would love a short-term full-time job!

5. wikteacher

wikteacher Rookie

Apr 21, 2006

Yep. I also work as a certified nursing assistant in a local hospital's OB department. I work at least 4 twelve hour shifts per month, usually more though. And I work at least full time hours there in the summer. I also fill in ocassionally at a local family daycare. I can't pay all my bills on my teaching salary.

6. MrsMikesell

MrsMikesell Cohort

Apr 21, 2006

When I first started teaching, I was single and made less than $15,000 a year. With over $600 a month with rent, car payments, insurance, gas and all of that, I ate a lot of Ramen noodles!

Kelly :)

7. ponton670

ponton670 Rookie

Apr 21, 2006

work other job

I used to teach summer school for added money but after a few years decided I needed the summer off. Now I work at a grain elevator during harvest in the fall. I work in the office after school and then on the weekends. The pay is good and I use the money for Christmas and then rest goes in the savings for emergencies during the year. Another perk to this job is it is where my boyfriend works and if I didn't work I probably woulnd't see him much between Labor Day and Thanksgiving!!!