Do you think this is wrong

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Htrbaby7591, Aug 3, 2012.

1. Htrbaby7591

Htrbaby7591 New Member

Aug 3, 2012

Last year I was a student teacher for a sixth grade class. Anyways, one day one of the students asked to go to the bathroom during a lesson. The teacher said no. About 15-20 minutes later (still in the lesson) he asked again. She still said no. About 5 minutes later he peed his pants. I noticed because I kept watching him to make sure he was ok. No one else had noticed what had happened yet, because he was hiding it. Anyways, I went up to him and asked him if he had an accident (obviously). He said yes and I took him to the nurse. Did I do the right thing or what??

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 3, 2012

You did the right thing.

When setting up your own classroom, keep this in mind. Have a restroom policy...:(

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 3, 2012

Why do you think that might have been the wrong thing to do? What did your cooperating teacher say at the time? Why are you raising this question now, a long time after the event occurred?

5. Htrbaby7591

Htrbaby7591 New Member

Aug 3, 2012

Sorry I worded the question weird. I mean after that event, I'm wondering how to handle bathroom procedures

6. Ms.SLS

Ms.SLS Cohort

Aug 4, 2012

A lot of people do things like a limited number of bathroom passes for the week/quarter/semester. So, kids can go whenever they need to, but if they use their passes up, they're out of luck. This cuts down on (at least some of) the non-emergency visits, but allows kids to go if they need to.

7. Mathemagician

Mathemagician Groupie

Aug 4, 2012