Do you teach on instructional level or grade level???

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by rookieABC123, Jan 22, 2014.

1. rookieABC123

rookieABC123 Comrade

Jan 22, 2014

Well it's the middle of the school year and I feel I've structured my learning support classroom all wrong....

I teach 7/8 reading and language arts. All of my students have a disability in reading and read at least 2 grade levels behind (some more, some less).

I'm not new to spec. ed. but I am new to this grade. I currently teach students from a 7/8th grade reading book that is part of the district curriculum. I try to modify it the best I can. But my question is maybe I'm teaching too much at their frustration level and not at their instructional level? If that's the case some of my reading classes will need to be grouped separate within my classroom. Because I have higher functioning mixed with a few really low functioning readers. Should I be using district 5th grade curriculum or should I be using something totally different such as an intervention reading program like READ180.
    Also, my goals are not based on grade level, they are based on making progress at their instructional level so doesn't mean that I teach on their level???? I think this all changed when state assessments started and spec. ed. teachers were told to teach at grade level. But if I teach at grade level, why are they in spec. ed.???
    Why does special ed. have to be so confusing? Any suggestions on how you structure your classroom and instruction would truly be helpful! Thank you!!!

3. EdEd

EdEd Aficionado

Jan 22, 2014