Do you teach bell to bell?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Doug_HSTeach_07, Mar 12, 2008.

1. Doug_HSTeach_07

Doug_HSTeach_07 Comrade

Mar 12, 2008

I was curious to see how many teachers do this. As a first-year teacher, I've found that keeping the kids busy every day the entire class period is essential to classroom management. There is less down time; hence, less time for in-class shenanigans and talking.

I also look at it this way: These kids have 43 minutes with me, which comes out to under 40 when you factor in attendance, grading, handing back homework, etc. I need to maximize every minute I can, and I do. Although it is a challenge sometimes, I will keep teaching "bell to bell." I just don't see the value in giving kids 10 minutes at the end of class (as some do) to waste time. I'm there to teach, not hang out.

3. blessedhands

blessedhands Comrade

Mar 12, 2008

Bell to Bell it issssssssssssssssss and its wonderful, keeps me and them busy and time flies by fast..

ding

time to go.

oh there is a 4-5 mins timeframe in between.

4. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Mar 12, 2008

I teach to the bell everyday, they usually at the end of the class are doing classwork.

5. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Mar 12, 2008

I have a bell ringer activity as they walk in the door so I can take attendence and collect homework and I give them the last 10 minutes to start homework in class. Otherwise I'm teaching or supervising an activity.

6. ddb23

ddb23 Companion

Mar 12, 2008

Not me - I start before the bell and they dismiss about a minute after the bell. Running to their next class keeps them in shape!

db

7. carlea

carlea Comrade

Mar 12, 2008