Do you sit in the teacher's lounge?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by GAteacher87, Jul 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GAteacher87

GAteacher87 Companion

Jul 23, 2011

Well, do you? :whistle:

I was always told in undergrad NOT to sit in the teacher's lounge--that this is where the tired, gossipy, pessimistic teachers sat. As a student teacher, I did experience this in a lounge-type setting, but there were also some great teachers who came in at times. I'm sure it depends on every school, but in YOUR school, do you enjoy your mornings/lunches in your room or with other teachers? How do you make teacher friends at school with the ones who are uplifting and optimistic and who love their jobs?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 23, 2011

I walk every day at lunch and then eat in faculty room. I don't find ours to be a negative place, but I also don't sit with those kinds of people. At lunch we often discuss non-school kinds of stuff:sports, family, vacation plans...

4. kpa1b2

kpa1b2 Aficionado

Jul 23, 2011

I tend to spend my lunch time at my desk, working. I rarely go to the teacher's lounge at lunch time. But then again my grade level is the only one that has lunch at that time. I'm the only one who brings their lunch every day. Others go out at least once a week. When we do eat lunch together it is usually in somebody's room.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 23, 2011

I think you were given horrible advice.

Apparently, some faculty lounges are dens of backbiting and gossip; that hasn't been my experience.

The faculty room in my school is a place where I can relax with friends, get advice and give it, learn more about my colleagues and the kids I teach.