Do you share personal information with your coworkers/admin?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by TennisPlayer, Sep 5, 2008.

1. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Sep 5, 2008

Part of me says only talk about school related issues at school and leave personal/family issues outside of school but since I work at a private school and we pray, I'd like to bring up some health issues that my relatives are facing but I also don't want to start crying and get all emotional at school. I can easily cry when I talk about emotional things that really upset me and I don't want to be viewed as weak or anything like that since I was told that as a child.

Today I find out if my mother in law's 2nd treatment for cancer is working or not. We'll get the call tonight since they live out of state. It's been a hard day waiting and I wanted to open up at school to my principal before I left school but I felt I would have started crying.

I'm a new teacher and this is my first school so I'm trying to be careful of what I say and do.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 5, 2008

If you want to ask them to pray for your family, then I don't see any problem with divulging that information. The power of prayer works!

4. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Sep 5, 2008

Only share what you don't mind everyone knowing.

To cry is human and no one will judge you for being emotional about a family member going through chemo. I'd be willing to bet that unfortunately, most of the staff at your school has had someone close to them with cancer.
    If you were crying about the small stuff (like the copier not working) then you might get judged pretty harshly ... because most people know that there are real issues to cry about ... like cancer.

Why not reach out and trust a few co-workers? They could be a great support - and it might be nice that they understand why your eyes are puffy and red sometimes.