Do you recycle lesson plans each year?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by MissaKay, Mar 29, 2018.

1. MissaKay

MissaKay Rookie

Mar 29, 2018

Hello everyone...
    I have just spent my entire Spring break as a first year special ed teacher organizing all of my materials we used into neat boxes...but as I did this I realized that as a self contained teacher I will have at least half of my students again next year.
    I was wondering, of you have the same set of students, do you recycle old themes and lessons and just do different crafts/worksheets? Or do you completely start fresh and create an all new curriculum?

When I did my student teaching in a gen ed room the teacher was using worksheets from the 90s. She had everything she ever made, plus the curriculum from the school. Teaching alternatively assessed kids in self contained, I have no curriculum...I had to start from scratch.

I guess I'm just worried about next year...and the year after. Do I have to make or buy all new material year after year? Or can I use the same stuff even if I have some of the same students?

3. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Mar 30, 2018

This is one of the downsides to sped that people don't realize. You definitely can't just reuse the same materials/plans from year to year. I teach resource, and I'm K-3 so I have many students for several years in a row. I'm in my 8th year of teaching and this is the first year I've ever actually had curriculum to use. Previously I had to make/find everything.

I find that the needs of my students change so much every year that it doesn't even make sense to try to start with last year's plans and "tweak them." I just start over. Even trying to say, "Okay, this is what I did with 2nd graders last year..." doesn't work, because the next year's 2nd graders aren't going to be in the same instructional spot nor will they move at the exact same pace.