Do you LOVE teaching pre-k?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Teach'em, May 29, 2011.

1. Teach'em

Teach'em Companion

May 29, 2011

I may have the opportunity to teach pre-k next year. Big jump from 3rd, I know, but I actually have more experience in pre-k, however not as the main teacher.

So, I'm wondering if I will would miss the "teaching" aspects of 3rd? I KNOW pre-k is teaching, but I really enjoy a challenge and just want experienced pre-k teachers' to weigh in.

What do you LOVE about teaching pre-k?

What do you dislike?

Oh, and if I do end up teaching pre-k, I plan to teach using The Project Approach/Reggio. Any tips/websites on these would be great, too!

THANKS!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 29, 2011

Are you excited about this change?

4. Teach'em

Teach'em Companion

May 29, 2011

Yes, I am! I have my bachelor's and (almost) master's in ECE but haven't had the opportunity to teach it yet. I'm mostly experiencing fear of the unknown I guess... I don't want to take it and wish I was back in 3rd, but then again, I can always change next year.

5. dcnuck

dcnuck Companion

May 29, 2011

I have taught pre k for six years and really enjoyed it. I would still be teaching that grade if I had my choice but that was out of my control. You have to think about what you say with them===they take everything literally. I used a lot of music with them===teaching motions with it which they enjoy---Jack Hartmann and Dr. Jean are my two favorites. You will be amazed at what they can learn. I had some that were able to read by the end of the school year. I tried to make learning fun but also keeping in mind that in Kindergarten they are expected to learn to read so I emphasized letter recognition and letter sounds. I have been subbing in kindergarten alot and it is amazing what they are doing at that grade level. Have fun with them--I think you will enjoy them---routine is your best bet with age.

6. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

May 29, 2011