Do you have a curriculum?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ecteach, Sep 10, 2019.

1. ecteach

ecteach Devotee

Sep 10, 2019

By curriculum, I mean a set of lessons and materials that you are expected to use to teach the standards.

I've never had one. I get the standards from the state website and the Goals from the IEPs and go from there. Everything is on my own.

I have 15 years experience and teach special ed/self contained.

Just wondering what others have to work with.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 10, 2019

We have a purchased math ‘program’ that we supplement with other materials. Outside of that, no others.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Sep 10, 2019

No, we have materials and suggestions on how to teach some subjects, but the final choice is up to each teacher. We are just required to teach the standards. How is up to each teacher. I have worked for other schools that have a mandated curriculum for certain subjects. Glad I don't have to put up with that any longer.

5. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Sep 10, 2019

Last year, I had no curriculum and it sucked. I felt like the entire math department didn’t have any consistency for the kids from grades level to grade level.

This year has been amazing so far because we have a whole curriculum done for us. It’s a top rated math curriculum that focuses on problem solving and inquiry based learning. My district ordered workbooks and manipulatives for each unit so all I have to do is copy the exit tickets to “prep”. The curriculum website has slides made that I modified. I spend more of my time planning for meaningful instruction than I do formatting on Microsoft Word now which is AMAZING. :) I would not be happy if the curriculum was not high quality but it is an awesome curriculum. I’m in a place where I’m much happier with the quality of my instruction and having a good curriculum has made it possible for me to have time to plan more.