Do you hang on to your lesson plan books from years past?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Nate, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Nate

Nate Companion

Aug 27, 2012

I'm setting up my classroom, and I've found my lesson plan books going back at least to 2005. I don't know why I've hung on to them (I don't even teach some of the subjects anymore) but I'm having a hard time throwing them out. Is there a good reason to keep these?

3. Curiouscat

Curiouscat Comrade

Aug 27, 2012

I keep the previous year until about Christmas time at which time I throw them out. I have no idea why I save them or why I wait til Christmas! I never use them or refer to them at all. I have been doing this for about 20 years and have never had a problem.

4. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Aug 27, 2012

We are legally required to keep our day plans and student documentation. It can be subpoened by a court.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 27, 2012

We have to turn ours in. They're legal documents, apparently. The school has to hold on to them for a certain amount of time.

6. Momzoid

Momzoid Companion

Aug 27, 2012

My school keeps a copy. It used to be paper now its on a flash drive. I keep mine on a flash drive and delete the old ones when I don't need them anymore.

7. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 27, 2012

My plan book and grade book are combined into one book.

I hang onto it until the kids whose grades are in it have graduated.

8. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Aug 27, 2012

I know I should... but I don't. I still think of myself as a newbie teacher (this is my 5th year) and I'm never happy with my lesson plans, projects, assessments or anything :) This year I'm hoping to really improve in how I organize myself, keep track of things, and lessons/assessments/papers in general so I do hope I will hold on to this one to just compare and help track the work we do in class.