Do you grade for points or completion? ELA especially

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Starbks Junkie, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Starbks Junkie

Starbks Junkie Rookie

Mar 2, 2008

I am currently a high school teacher who grades almost solely for points. I am most likely going to be dropping down to 7th grade next year. I think that middle school is such a different environment from high school. There is so much less responsibility and focus on "correctness." I want to be fair. How do you run your homework grading????? :confused:

3. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Mar 2, 2008

Everything I grade is on correctness in Social Studies and when I taught English, but in math on effort.

4. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

Mar 2, 2008

I teach grade 7 and I don't see why there has to be less focus on correctness. When I teach something, I expect it do be done thoroughly and correctly. How will they learn to pay attention to all the minute details if it is not expected of them? IMO, grade 7 is when they begin to be introduced to this. The word "detail" comes up in almost everything we do because I want them to get into the habit of tuning in to that no matter what they are doing. Doing this early will serve them will by the time they get to high school.

5. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Mar 2, 2008

I think the problem is that it takes soo much time to grade everything and many of us have given up and asses this in other ways. For me this is the only way. Classwork and Homework is very important in my classes and is worth 25%-40% (total) depending the level of th class.

6. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Mar 3, 2008

I grade for correctness. By the time I ask students to do something for a grade, we have practiced the particular skill several times, both as a group and independently.

7. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Mar 3, 2008