Do you give your student's #'s or just use their names?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by woobie5, Jun 16, 2009.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Jun 16, 2009

Just curious what the pro's and con's are of giving each student a # to label their cubby, mailbox, etc? I'm a new Kindergarten teacher and the teacher before me used #'s and I'm trying to decide if I should leave them up or take them down. I guess it just seems like one extra step if I have to number everything for each student AND put their name there too. HELP!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 16, 2009

I didn't do my first two years, but think now it would be so much easier to do....sooooo when I get back into my classroom I'm going to try it.

4. frogger

frogger Devotee

Jun 16, 2009

I gave them numbers - it is easier with labeling things and being able to reuse the stuff. I didn't put their names on anything though.

5. Irma

Irma Companion

Jun 16, 2009

I started with numbers and then I began using names. Next year, I am switching back to numbers just because I hate making and then taking off every year. With little ones I might be more inclined to use names.

6. Cheyenne

Cheyenne Companion

Jun 16, 2009

I use numbers and really like using them. :thumb:

Not only does it cut down on having to label things every year, but....
    1. it is easy to put papers into 1-2-3 order and see at a glance who didn't hand theirs in.
    2. it makes it easier to keep track of textbooks, folders, etc. when everything matches to a student's number. Say if a textbk gets left at a center, I know whose it is just by a quick look in the book.
    3. it protects a student's privacy when I need to put their number on the board for any reason. All of us in the classroom do get to know each other's numbers, but anyone coming into the room will not know them.
    4. it makes forming quick groups easy. I can call odds and evens, say, or numbers 1-4, 5-8, etc.