Do you give to...

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by BookReader813, Nov 1, 2013.

1. BookReader813

BookReader813 Companion

Nov 1, 2013

...your college's alumni association?

I just got off the phone with mine. Every year around this time they call and ask for money, and it's always the same awkward conversation about how I have no money to give them. :lol:

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Nov 1, 2013

Lol...NO.

I graduated in May and immediately started grad classes, but despite paying for that out of pocket they sure did call regularly to "update records...and oh by the way, would you like to give [us even more of your] money?"

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2013

I go to reunions and patronize the bookstore when I go. That's about it...I recently put two kids thru college and am still paying for that.

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Nov 1, 2013

I don't. In college one of my education professors frequently joked that the problem with the education department was that we didn't have wealthy alumni like many of the other departments. The nice thing for me is that my university only has my parent's home telephone number and not my cell...which they quit calling once they figured out I really didn't live there :). Even if I had extra money to donate it, personally I think there are a lot of other things I'd give to first.

6. Danny'sNanny

Danny'sNanny Connoisseur

Nov 1, 2013

I don't, but always feel guilty because...
    That was my job my first year in college - calling alumni and asking for donations. It was a horrible, awful job! But I could walk there from the dorms, it payed decent, and you got a free meal coupon for every shift you worked.

7. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Nov 1, 2013

Nope... the college got a lot of my money....

8. BookReader813

BookReader813 Companion

Nov 1, 2013