Do you ever feel like a fake?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Geologygirl, Sep 14, 2014.

1. Geologygirl

Geologygirl Comrade

Sep 14, 2014

I am a new teacher. Every Sunday night I feel great anxiety that some thing will go wrong or that I am not prepared enough. I am at a great school, my kids are doing pretty well, I have everything ready for tommarrow, lab stuff, copies ect... But I still feel unprepared like I do not know what I am doing, and I am a big fake. Does anyone else ever feel like this?

3. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Sep 14, 2014

I did my very first year. I felt like a phony.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Sep 14, 2014

It took years for that feeling to go away completely. Occasionally, when I'm having a difficult time with something, it rears its head.

5. MissPapa

MissPapa Comrade

Sep 14, 2014

I have the same feeling. It's natural for a new teacher. Always ask for help if you're stuck. I feel bad when I do it but people assure me that it's the right thing to do. Good luck!

6. soccerkid

soccerkid Rookie

Sep 14, 2014

I'm a new teacher this year as well and I know the feeling! Your always wondering am I doing ok? Are they getting it? Am I teaching them what they need to know? And tons more questions are always in the back of my mind. I think its mostly the reassurance that your doing just fine thing from student teaching that I miss. I'm kind of relived to see I'm not the only one that feels this way! Im at a school that is getting a curriculum review this year which is a major project for me, since I'm a new teacher. I had another teacher look at my progress and she told me it was fantastic and that it was better than some of the veteran teachers. I was in shock when she said that because I didn't think I could possibly be doing it right!

7. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Sep 14, 2014

I feel like a fake adult sometimes. I have my own house and sometimes I wonder if I really have it together like it seems.