Do teachers have delays and early dismissals?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by DreamerSeeker, Nov 13, 2019.

1. DreamerSeeker

DreamerSeeker Rookie

Nov 13, 2019

I'm a new substitute teacher working my way to becoming a regular teacher, and I was just wondering if teachers get to have early dismissals just like the students or if teachers are still required to be at school for their full regular hours regardless?
    Also, for wintertime, if your school gets delayed or even canceled, are teachers still required to come in and work their regular hours?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Nov 13, 2019

In the places I have worked, early dismissal for students meant faculty meetings for teachers. In my state, schools are usually only cancelled for hurricanes and teachers were not required to come in.

Tired Teacher likes this.
  4. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Nov 13, 2019

As a new sub, I suggest that you talk to whoever calls the subs, and make sure that you know their policy. Traditionally, here, if there is a delayed opening, the subs and other teachers also have a delay, although maybe not as long as the student delays. If early dismissals are planned, such as before a break, subs go when the rest of the teachers go, unless they let you go earlier. Subs, here, don't go to staff meetings, and are cleared to leave once the students are gone. This is liable to be different from one district to another, so ask at every district you sub in to make sure you get the right information.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    Tired Teacher and bella84 like this.
  5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Nov 13, 2019

Here is how it works for us:
    • Scheduled Early Dismissal is for teachers to have meetings, so kids go home and we stay.
    • Early Dismissal for Weather/Emergency—everybody goes home.

• Late Start due to weather—we all arrive late.