Do teachers have access to student medical records?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Chrissie31, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Chrissie31

Chrissie31 Guest

Feb 12, 2016

Hi, I am not a teacher but I'm a high school student with a question. I have been really struggling with mental illness, depression, and other issues, so I have been taking online classes. In order to show proof that I had a reason for not completing school work for a time when I was not completing work, we had to provide the school with notation from a doctor as well as records from a stay at a psychiatric hospital. I thought that just the top level school people who needed to see that for proof would have access to it. However, now from emails I have received from other teachers, it seems like they all know about it. Is this legal? To me it seems like this should be privileged information. I didn't want anyone to know about it who didn't have to, and them having intimate details of what I have been dealing with seems wrong.
    Thanks.

3. jadorelafrance

jadorelafrance Cohort

Feb 12, 2016

Teachers do not have access to students medical records, however they may be privy to certain details if it's necessary for the teacher to know. For instance, I know all of my students' health information(well anything relevant to my teaching and classroom environment) including allergies and asthma so I can keep certain substances out of my classroom (i.e. Nuts) and ensure the safety of the particular students. I have even been trained to use an epi-pen and know which students have one. In the past, I have been made aware of when students were admitted to any hospital or facility but not the details why so that I can send work (through the office not directly) and that I am aware of why my student is no longer in my classroom and to be sensitive to deadlines, accommodations and modifications, etc. and to just sensitive of the students' needs for when they come back to the classroom.

4. Rox

Rox Cohort