Do parents make better teachers?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by catnfiddle, Aug 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Aug 30, 2013

I saw this article on Slate and, for some reason, it put me on the defensive. On one hand, I am childless due to a number of factors. On the other, I am old enough to be a parent to my students, and often get incredibly maternal with them (I would have delivered tea with honey to a sick student today, but Rockhubby borrowed my car).

What say you? Are you a different or better teacher because of your parental status? Do you prefer your children are taught by teachers who have kids of their own? Does this supposition make you think about your own status as a parent of non-parent?

3. Jem

Jem Aficionado

Aug 30, 2013

I don't think I'm a better teacher, but I'm a different teacher now.

I always have my Henry in the back of my head when I'm teaching, like an echo. I don't realize it's there until something triggers it. I saw a little boy bawling in the lobby the other day, and I couldn't help but imagine it was my kid. I didn't really care what he had done-I wanted to run over and scoop him up. I would not have had that urge before. That doesn't really have anything to do with how I deliver lessons, but it does affect me as a person.

I'm super aware of how much homework I give-we have a rough commuting situation at night, and I think about how I would hate for Henry to have tons of homework on top of everything else.