Do I Quit Mid Year??

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by SavingGrace, Nov 15, 2011.

1. SavingGrace

SavingGrace New Member

Nov 15, 2011

First of all, I'm not a quitter, which is why I'm still at this school. However, I think I officially hit my breaking point.

I taught for a year before graduate school, and I loved it. After grad school, I decided to work for a low-performing school. The principal is brand new, and so is most of the staff. However, refer to the reasons that are pushing me over the edge:

A) Principal took away lunch and planning breaks for mandatory meetings...everyday.
    B) 2-3 days a week we are forced to stay almost 11 hours for meetings. (which are useless)
    C) I have excellent classroom management, but we all know there are maybe 3-4 who can never be controlled. I have a degree in adolescent psychotherapy - I know what I'm talking about. However, the principal HATES when we need a student removed, and will publicly chastise you for it.
    D) I've been assaulted twice by students. Each student was given ISS only and sent back to class. I still have one of those students who calls me a f*cking b*tch repeatedly because he knows the administration does nothing.
    E) It's middle school, and we have to stay with the kids during lunch to be their lunch monitors - all hallways must be 100% silent or the teachers get written up (yes, if a student so much as coughs the teacher get a write up)
    F) The atmosphere sucks - as positive as I try to be when I'm in the building, all you hear all day long is other teachers crying or the principal screaming.
    G) We are made to do tons of extra things, at night, on weekends, etc. I get that teachings isn't a 9-5, but it's impossible to get anything done with all of the "mandatory things."
    H) I have students with IEPs that clearly state pull-out. They are not pulled out - nor do I have an aid. All my energy goes to their understanding