Do I have a chance or value as a potential teacher? Currently a CPA/accountant

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ivy93, Oct 17, 2015.

1. ivy93

ivy93 Guest

Oct 17, 2015

I am currently a CPA in the largest public accounting firm. I've been a CPA for three years here in Michigan and I am currently 25 years old. I no longer have any passion for my current line of work and the 90 hour weeks have worn me out.

I have recently looked into teaching and a potential new path for myself. During high school and college I was always interested in being a teacher but I chased money instead of what truly interests me.

As a CPA with experience managing a few employees, are there plentiful teaching opportunities for me or will I struggle to find a job? It seems the most in-demand positions are math/science positions, but what about a business, finance, or IT teaching positions?

Any and all suggestions or comments are welcome. Thank you for the help!

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Oct 17, 2015

You will need some type of certification, and I know MI has been a tight area for jobs lately.

Prior experience is often helpful in getting a job and my district has a huge career tech program with lots of business/accounting classes for students who then continue on to college.

Good luck!

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Oct 17, 2015

The best way to get a job relatively quickly and to be assured of being a high-quality candidate would be to find an initial certification grad program.

5. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Oct 17, 2015

Some irony... I'm a Michigander that recently left teaching and I've been researching accounting programs for nearly a year.