Do an interview and get the job offer the same day????

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by bball_coach, Jun 11, 2010.

1. bball_coach

bball_coach New Member

Jun 11, 2010

Hello all!
    I am new to A to Z Teacher Stuff.
    I'm glad to join the community today! :D
    Just to share my story,
    I did my 2nd round interview last night at 4:30pm. It ended around 5:20pm!! (the latest interview I've been in or heard of!!) I interviewed for both 2nd and 3rd grade position.

Anyway, I felt that the interview went well for the most part.
    I was having a great time with the AP and P, with a panel of 6 teachers. I felt I was able to connect with them at so many levels. (For one, my wife has taught at this school this past school year and I got a chance to met a few of her fellow teachers.) During the interview, we got to share moments of laughter. Also, I was able to share a personal story of my former, troubled student who happened to transfer to this particular school!!! And I swear I caught a few teachers tearing! :)

So now, a full day has passed since the interview and no phone call! :unsure:

My question is: When got your job. did you get your offer right away?
    I heard from many teachers, the interviewing panel KNOWS who they want and would give a job offer the SAME day!
    Even minutes after you walk away from the interview.

I'm just hoping the P ad AP were calling my references and it being Friday and all, I would like to wait til Monday.. I really want this job and believe I would be a great fit!

Please share your experiences!

3. Mrs Ski

Mrs Ski Companion

Jun 11, 2010

I got mine before i even left, but after taking to our P i learned that out of the 10 or so teachers that were added/replaced this year she offered jobs to 2 of us in this manner, the others went through a longer period of deciding.

4. Jedi74

Jedi74 Rookie

Jun 11, 2010

My offer came 1 week after my interview but it was because they had to check my references

5. l8ybugmom