Do All Teachers Teach Reading?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Jame, Jun 29, 2007.

1. Jame

Jame Comrade

Jun 29, 2007

Discussion on another thread has raised a question in my mind...:) Do all teachers, regardless of level or content, teach reading?

Guess, my take on this is yes, they do. Reading is a basis for all subjects. Of course, more formalized instruction takes place in the lower grades, but there are opportunities and the need to incorporate reading skills and strategies and most importantly, a love of reading and real life connections within every subject matter. We do not learn to read to mastery in any one grade; it is an on-going process. I know that I am still learning to be a better reader, and I hope that I never stop challenging myself and growing in that respect.

We cannot think that it is only the job of K-3 or even K-5. It is the job of all teachers, within the content of their classes, to help their students grow as readers. It is just as vitally important that teachers in the middle grades are well versed in and committed to reading instruction in all content areas as teachers in the lower grades, as this is the time when the transition to reading for information takes place. But, it cannot stop there, either; it needs to continue to be reinforced and fine tuned throughout their high school years, as well.

Okay....my two cents worth. :D What are everyone else's thoughts? :)

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 29, 2007

I do not.