Discovery/Take Home Bags

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by kinderkate, Apr 7, 2009.

1. kinderkate

kinderkate Rookie

Apr 7, 2009

I am preparing to write a grant to make Take-Home/Discovery Bags. I am a first year teacher and would really like to implement these next year. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make these bags? Do you go by themes, books, or what? Does anyone know of websites that are helpful and may have samples? What all do you include in these bags and where would I get the activities? Thank you for any and all help! I hope everyone has a great week!!!

3. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Apr 10, 2009

I LOVED my discovery/literacy bags! I had over 50 bags when I was in the classroom that my kids could take home. I have lots of examples and pictures of my literacy take-home bags on my website for teachers. I have also listed the exact contents of each bag for you there. There are also links there to other websites with more ideas for take-home bags and a note you can download to send to the parents. If you google "literacy bags" you will get lots of hits that way too.

4. SLteaCh

SLteaCh Companion

Apr 17, 2009

Hello! I do Discovery Packs, and this year I have 84 of them. They are organized by theme. Each of my packs contains 3-5 stories, 3-5 file folder games, a poem, a song, and a journal. Depending on the theme, they will have additional items as well. For example in my Farm Animals pack, I have a bag of 48 small plastic farms animals and then an activity sheet that gives the family ideas: sort the animals, make patterns with the animals, pick an animal with your eyes closed and then make that animal sound..etc.