Discouraged

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by tcherjen, May 26, 2009.

1. tcherjen

tcherjen Comrade

May 26, 2009

So I graduated from a small college. Everyone but 2 of us graduated with honors. I am one of the 2. I graduated with a B+ average. I my official GPA is 3.5983. You had to have a 3.65 to grauduate with honors. So I missed it by a bit. All the people I graduated with will be at the same job fair as me. All with their honors on their resume. I feel like I am not going to stand a chance now. Never mind I went back to school when I had a 4 month old spent many a sleepless night taking care of her. My good friend and I are applying to the same districts and she has honors too. Any hope?????????? :(

3. rachaelski

rachaelski Habitué

May 26, 2009

Are you applying near your school? Can you reach out a bit further than everyone else? When interviewing describe the challenges and successes of balancing school and being a parent. Most college grads don't have that experience. Spin yourself positively!!!!

4. tcherjen

tcherjen Comrade

May 26, 2009

I am trying. Yes we are in a small area. I am settled with family and can not go any farther. I hated to even go to graduation, because of not having the cords at graduation. I stuck out like a sore thumb.

5. MsBee

MsBee Devotee

May 26, 2009

I don't think not having honors matters. I did graduate with honors but was always told it didn't really matter. It mattered to me though.

6. rachaelski

rachaelski Habitué

May 26, 2009

3.5 is amazing (and also my college GPA, lol)! Be proud of that! No offense to your school, but if everyone is graduating with that high of marks, what does it say about the rigor of the college? The schools have to know that the college is producing an overabundance of "honors." Put your GPA proudly on your resume and go out and get a job. Show what you know, your personality, your skills, and forget about some ridiculous number!

7. tcherjen

tcherjen Comrade

May 26, 2009