Discipline

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by wcormode, Sep 10, 2010.

1. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Sep 10, 2010

I had kind of a bad day today. We are only a week or so in to the year and I am a first year teacher in math. For the most part the students have been silent thus far. I have kept them busy the whole period every period and I get very few students asking questions during my lesson and a few during work time.

One of my classes in particular (Geometry) has been very good. They have all completed their assignments every day and they have been good at asking for help and coming in outside class. Participation has been decent during the lessons. I do have foreign exchange students though and one of them seems intent on getting sent home early. She doesnt pay attention and doesnt do homework. I try my best to make sure that her attitude doesnt drag others to her side.

The last two days the mood has changed though. Half of the students in this class worked very hard yesterday during work time and the other half either never started an assignment or went slowly while messing around. I have no problem with this as long as the classroom is not disrupted AND completed assignments come back the next day. I do give points for note taking by grading their notebook so the students who are not paying attention will take a grade hit there later this year. I also do not grade each assignment but I do take random assignments to grade on test days. Maybe because we are not to that point yet they wont get the point until their grade suffers.