Discipline Plan

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by bonges, Dec 7, 2008.

1. bonges

bonges Rookie

Dec 7, 2008

I am a first year teacher and I am having a discipline issue in one of my classes. I know part of the issue is how I handled my class at the beginning of the year, as in I probably let them get away with more then I should have, but here I am and if anyone has advice for me that would be appreciated. My situation is that I have a number of students who show up almost everyday to my class but the do not do any work or participate. I have called some homes and spoken with those students and they are aware that they are failing my class but they do not seem to care. Now this is a problem because they are continually disruptive in my class and makes it increasingly more difficult to teach the rest of my class. Threatening their grade doesn't work because they are failing anyways, and I don't want to resort to sending them to the discipline office, though this is what I may end up having to do. If there is any help or advice for this situation please let me know.

3. Doug_HSTeach_07

Doug_HSTeach_07 Comrade

Dec 7, 2008

Hey fellow Illinois teacher! Your concerns are good ones. I have no idea what your "discipline plan" is, but I have a couple tips.

- Kids will test a first-year teacher, as I'm sure you've found out. This is where you've got to shine. Calmly tell them what the plan is (warning, referral to office, detention with you, etc.) without any hesitation in your voice. If they see hesitation or uncertainty, they'll pounce all over it and won't take you seriously.