Discipline Help Requested

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by lacey2828, Nov 15, 2004.

1. lacey2828

lacey2828 Rookie

Nov 15, 2004

Hi All,
    I just recently joined this site and find it fantastic. I read posts all the time to get ideas because I am a student teacher in the 6th grade which in this particular school is still considered elementary. I have the class all to myself for the last hour and a half each day. I am a very passive person and find it hard to discipline but these kids are walking all over me. I was trying to teach Social Studies today and I couldn't hear the answers to my questions because everyone was talking. There was a boy in the class that repeatedly threw his pen up in the air and then catch it. I asked him to quit and pointed out that I knew he would not have done something like that if his teacher was in the room. I don't know what to do? Everything I ask of them does not seem to phase them. Please help, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

3. awaxler

awaxler Comrade

Nov 16, 2004

My first suggestion is to use teaching strategies that are designed to keep your students actively involved in your lessons. The vast majority of discipline issues arise when students are bored or not involved in the lesson.

Have students "pair/share" information...have students "all write" answers to questions you pose rather than having the same handful of students raise their hands...

Also make sure to give specific directions. Give a specifc amount of time to do a task and always "check for understanding". For example, I may say, "You have 3 minutes to do..." Then I will ask a random student to tell me how much time they have and what I am asking them to do.

I do not use rewards and punishments, but I do use something called a "clinic"