Disappointed because I'm feeling burnt out.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Jan 31, 2016.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Jan 31, 2016

I decided to become a teacher five years ago at the ripe age of 19! I have loved my profession. I worked at a school, and that was what inspired me to get started on this career path. I was so proud of everything I was doing while in school, LOVED my student teaching experience, loved my first year teaching and my school. Last year as a first year teacher, I felt confident in my skills and I loved what I was doing. I looked forward to going to work every single day!

This year, I have moved to a new school. I am really struggling this year. I am at a great school as far as students/parental support (especially compared to last year), and I have great admin, but something is just....different. I feel so much pressure put on me all the time for observations and student performance. It's the most frustrating feeling to teach your heart out and then look at test results and see that you have kids that aren't getting it. It's been no secret here that I struggle to work alongside my team leader, as I feel she is constantly putting me down and making me feel inadequate (although, that has somewhat improved). I'm finding myself on Sundays (like today) just dreading going to work tomorrow.

And I am disappointed in myself.

What happened to me? This was the profession that I loved! When did I become that teacher that only made it through the year by counting down until the next break? :( I don't want that to be me. I've identified that what I am struggling with is the evaluation aspect, as in the pressure of observations and student performance on tests. Sometimes I wonder if I'm cut out for this, and then I get so upset at myself for allowing myself to feel inferior and inadequate.

Words from the wise?

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Jan 31, 2016