Dinosaur Unit

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Nov 1, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Nov 1, 2008

I'm doing a dinosaur unit the last two weeks of November, and I'm really excited about it. My kids have shown a lot of interest in dinosaurs, probably because I have colored dinosaurs that we count with every day and we've been singing "We are the Dinosaurs" for our motion song about once a week.

I've never done a dinosaur unit before, and I need your help for ideas. So far I have thought of . . .

Putting Easter grass and small dinosaurs in Easter eggs in the sensory table
    Putting colored dinosaurs in same color Easter eggs and doing a color matching game
    Measuring the lengths of various dinosaurs and measuring the kids

Any art ideas? I try to do as much free art as possible . . . ie, for our cat/dog unit, I'm putting out lots of art materials for them to make their own cat or dog face on a paper plate. We have large dinosaur stencils, and I could put those out with materials (shiny wrapping paper for scales?) Also, where can I find dinosaurs small enough for the plastic eggs? I haven't found any yet.

3. mrgrinch09

mrgrinch09 Comrade

Nov 1, 2008

Art: We made fossils by gluing different parts of dinosaurs together. I found pictures of dinosaur fossils on Google and was able to reproduce them, cut them into different parts. The kids were able to select which skulls, legs, arms, tails and bodies they wanted to use for their dinosaurs.

We painted cardboard cut outs of dinosaur feet. After they dried we attached elastic and the kids were able to wear them while doing the dinosaur stomp music activity.

We used styrofoam, popsicle sticks, pipe cleaners, toothpicks and other materials to make dinosaurs.

We poured quick-krete cement into a bowl and the children put small dinosaur toys and real tree twigs and leaves to make a dinosaur diorama.