dinner time?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by srfjeld, Feb 4, 2009.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Feb 4, 2009

I'm a first year teacher struggling to find a balance in my after-school time. I have a 45 minute commute home so by the time I get home, it's usually about 5 or 5:30, though often later. I find that I am often starving on the way home so I'll stop to eat some kind of fast-food crap. When I get home I get right to grading and would "like" to be in bed by 9 but it's usually more like 10 or later. So, cooking a real, healthy dinner goes right out the window... not to mention gym time. Grading usually takes me a couple hours.

How do you do it? What is your routine? Are you able to manage preparing good meals in the evening and fit everything else in? I don't even have kids of my own and can't seem to master this.

If you do make quick meals, what are your timesaving tips or meals?

Thank you,

Stephanie

3. peggy27

peggy27 Cohort

Feb 4, 2009

I like to use a crockpot. Easy and it cooks while you are gone. Soup out of can and eat it in a bread bowl is a meal my kids like. Sandwiches on good bread is always a good choice. I hate to cook long involved meals during the week. We have breakfast usually once every couple of weeks for dinner too.

4. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Feb 4, 2009

I agree with peggy crockpot is GREAT. Maybe preparing something you can re heat & eat a day or so later. I love making turkey pot pie because we can make it for dinner. How about chopping up some chicken & cooking it while you grade papers. Put it in the fridge so you can do something with it later like salads, tacos or we make a chicken veggie & noodle stove top that takes less than a half hour when I have to cook the chicken.

I'm curious as to why you have so much to grade in 1st grade? I taught first & yes I had a little, but didn't have too much to grade.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Feb 4, 2009