Difficult Parents

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ms.Holyoke, Nov 12, 2019.

1. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Nov 12, 2019

What do you do when you have parents who email teachers about consequences that their child receives?

We have a student who made an inappropriate comment about a female student's body parts. We talked to a group of boys (and admin called mom) and mom emails us a five paragraph email about why her son should not have bee disciplined or talked to.

My admin is supportive but it seems like behaviors wont change unless the parents are on board! Thoughts?

3. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Nov 12, 2019

For the most part, I use my best "I'm a professional" tone and reply that while a student is in my class, he/she will follow my class rules or else follow my consequences. I have been known to mention homeschooling when the concept of following another adult's rules becomes an issue.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Nov 12, 2019

"I would be happy to arrange a meeting with you, your son and Mr/Ms. Principal to discuss school policies regarding acceptable school behavior. Perhaps I can draw your attention to the student/parent handbook you both signed, section X on page X."

5. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Nov 13, 2019

Parents lash out at everyone they have on speed dial, trying to present their side of the story. It is not up to the teacher to respond - simply forward what was sent to you by the mother and then forget about it. A response like that is above the teacher's pay grade.

Tired Teacher likes this.
  6. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

Nov 17, 2019

You really think snarky is the way to go?

In my opinion, the whole handbook signing thing is handled badly by almost every school I've seen do it. Do you really wonder why some parents are adversarial when the school leads of with that?

a2z likes this.
  7. Tired Teacher

Tired Teacher Cohort

Nov 17, 2019