Differentiation of Instruction for 4 year old Pre-K Class

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by mrs.oz, Oct 11, 2006.

1. mrs.oz

mrs.oz Companion

Oct 11, 2006

Anyone have any good ideas for diferentiation of instruction? I am a public school pre-K teacher of 4 years. Our principal this year is making us focus on differentiation of instruction for those higher acheiving students. Anyone else pull children and challenge them in any way. I already teach groups in the spring when we have finished letters and sounds and the ones who are struggling review letters and sounds with the aide while the higher group gets to read and work on sounds.

3. kimrandy1

kimrandy1 Enthusiast

Oct 11, 2006

We also have to differentiate our instruction. Do you do guided reading groups? That's one way to differentiate...just by your choice of books that the kids will read and the skills that you use when you teach those groups. My lower kids are now simply working on left to right and finding the print on the page. My higher acheiving kids are starting to recognize some sight words and find them on the pages. I pull my guided reading groups during center time. It takes about 5 minutes per group, and I can usually grab 2 groups a day, along with all of the other assessing, general management and parent stuff that we do during centers.

With things like patterning, it's easy to make more complex pattern strips for those who can do it, and the same goes with math mats...have the more able make groups of higher numbers, or even start the combining of groups for basic addition.
    Kim

4. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Oct 11, 2006