did you ever have a class like this...

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by GTB4GT, Oct 12, 2013.

1. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Oct 12, 2013

I am in my 3rd year teaching (math). one of my subject areas is precalculus. I loved teaching this the first two years - the students were curious, asked questions, participated in discussions, etc. this year's group is reserved, quiet and not engaged. They are not bad kids - I don't have any discipline issues of any kind. But they are very passive. Based on the first two years, I have a feel for where there might be questions from students. I don't get them this year. I don't see them stopping by before or after school or at break to discuss the homework.

It's not that they are getting the material - their grades and scores are significantly lower than in the past. for example, we just took Chapter 3 test. The mean score from this group was 75 and a standard deviation of 16. from the previous two years, the average was an 85, std. deviation of 12.

I have tried (as always) icebreakers and group projects in the computer lab. Like I said, it's not a problem but I find the class is less fun for me to teach as it's not interactive.

any thoughts or ideas. or is this the normal ebb and flow of teaching that one experiences due to ever changing dynamics from group to group each year?

3. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Oct 12, 2013

Every year, I have one class like that. Totally passive. Perfect behavior. Group work and turn and talk help.

Set up a mailbox in your classroom and provide index cards. Have them write their questions on the card - without signing their names. That way, you can address their questions without any of them feeling singled out.

4. Barbd

Barbd Rookie

Oct 12, 2013

My first thought was they might be feeling overwhelmed.

I agree with the options above too.

I've used nameless exit tickets to get a true read on what the kids are understanding and feeling.